What I’ve learned

I’ll be honest: I never thought that I would be able to learn anything new about social media just by maintaining a blog. Having read the previous 12 posts, however, I discovered that before I started this little project, there was a lot I did not know.

I never knew that there were advantages and disadvantages to using Facebook pages over Facebook groups until my blog forced me to think critically about the issue. I would have never thought about the problem that news feed sites such as Digg and Reddit presented in terms of broken conversations, and I would have never guessed that services such as Yacktrack existed to fix this problem. I would have never included blogs such as ReadWriteWeb or ProBlogger in my RSS feeds.

Most importantly, I would have never thought about the impact that social media has and will continue to have on Internet users, and I certainly would have never thought about how social media and the Internet relates to my future career.

In light of this, I believe that I will continue to blog about social media in hopes of learning more about how the Internet relates to us as public relations practitioners and Internet users in general.

2 Responses to “What I’ve learned”


  1. 1 Tiffany Derville June 1, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Bryan, getting to read your blog this quarter has been wonderful. You did a great job with exploring social media beyond our in-class discussions. I’m glad to know that you will continue blogging, and you can count on me as a lifelong subscriber.

  2. 2 bry0000000 June 4, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Thanks Tiffany! I enjoyed using this blog to learn about social media and its role in public relations. I hope you require your students to blog in the future as well because I’m sure they’ll love it.


Leave a Reply

About Bryan Saxton:

I am a Journalism Student at the University of Oregon and the Public Relation's Officer for the International Student Association.
Add to Technorati Favorites
View Bryan Saxton's profile on LinkedIn

RSS My Twitter Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Facebook Profile

Bryan Saxton's Facebook profile

del.icio.us Social Media links

Posts by topic


